Georgia congressional candidates enter balloting for 2024 elections.

Atlanta — Monday marked the commencement of state and federal office qualifying in Georgia's 2024 elections. Dozens of Republican and Democratic candidates signed papers and paid fees at the state Capitol, while nonpartisan and independent candidates lined up across the street to qualify with the secretary of state. Candidates can register until noon Friday.

While the presidential election will dominate Georgia's November ballots, all 14 congressional districts, 56 state Senate seats, and 180 state House seats are up for grabs.

Primaries will determine party nominees on May 21, the same day Georgia elects judges and other nonpartisan officials. For offices without a majority on May 21, runoffs will be conducted on June 18.

Due to court-ordered redistricting, all Congressmen whose districts touch metro Atlanta have new territory, as do many state Senate and House districts in metro Atlanta and middle Georgia. A judge concluded that lines discriminated against Black voters, requiring another redistricting likely to retain Republican dominance.

Mon., 12 of 13 House incumbents seeking reelection qualified fast. Their five Democratic U.S. congressmen were Sanford Bishop (2nd District), Hank Johnson (4th District), Nikema Williams (5th District), Lucy McBath (6th District), and David Scott (13th District).

Seven of the eight Republican incumbents running—Buddy Carter, Andrew Clyde, Rich McCormick, Austin Scott, Barry Loudermilk, Rick Allen, and Marjorie Taylor Greene—also qualified.

The 2024 Georgia presidential election will likely be tight. No congressional district is projected to be competitive in November due to Republican redistricting. That means primaries will likely decide winners. GOP contenders are hurrying to replace four-term U.S. Rep. Drew Ferguson, who is not running for reelection.

On Monday, former state Sens. Mike Crane of Franklin and Mike Dugan of Carrollton, former state Rep. Philip Singleton of Sharpsburg, and retired police officer and purchasing manager Jim Bennett of Bowdon qualified. Other qualifiers are expected in future days.

stay turned for development